The ReadMe file contains information on DASYLab 10. Refer to the DASYLab webpage www.dasylab.com for current information and for drivers.
For the correct DASYLab performance the following minimum requirements must be met:
- IBM-PC and compatible with an Intel Pentium (III, IV), Athlon, AMD K6 or AMD K7 processor (32-bit)
- Minimum of 512 MB memory, recommended: 1 GB
- Hard disk memory: at least 100 MB free memory space
- Graphics board: color depth 24 or 32 bit (true color) and a screen resolution of 1024x768 or more
- A mouse because you can operate certain DASYLab functions only with the mouse.
- Windows Vista (32-bit mode)
- Windows XP Pro, Service Pack 2 or later
- Windows 2000, Service Pack 4 or later
- New Features in DASYLab 10.0.0
The following section provides information about important innovations and changes in the current DASYLab version.
When DASYLab launches, the information block only displays relevant start processes. To display all messages in the information block during startup, enable Show all start messages in the Global Settings dialog box. Only activate this setting to check internal processes when you include user-defined modules.
Note If you create complex worksheets, the number of modules you use and the number of data channels you implement increase the computing power required. Create worksheets for specific tasks and connect the worksheets with a sequence or with actions. This makes the task clearer and the computing power the worksheet requires decreases. You also create partial solutions which you can use for other tasks.
With Windows Vista support, DASYLab creates the Standard folder for worksheets, data files, device definitions, black boxes, and other files such as bitmaps or variable files under Users\Public\Public Documents\DASYLab\10.0.0\ENG\.. and on Windows XP under Documents and Settings\All Users\Documents\DASYLab\10.0.0\ENG\.. because the program folder is write protected. DASYLab saves the paths in the file DASYLAB.INI which is in this folder together with all other INI files.
The path selection and the path display in the module dialog boxes is in line with the new path structure, for example, in the modules Switch, Reference Curve, or Write Data. In DASYLab the paths must not be longer than 128 characters.
You cannot use a software protection program under Windows Vista.
You can already use the following drivers for measurement and visualization under Windows Vista. Refer to www.dasylab.com for current information.
· Adlink NUDAM driver
· Advantech ADAM driver
· ICP CON driver
· MSL SOLO driver
· National Instruments IEEE
· National Instruments NI-CAN
· National Instruments NI-DAQmx
· Measurement Computing MCC-DAQ
· Microstar Laboratories DAP
· Modbus
· Omega/Newport OMR driver
· OPC-DA Client
· Sound card
· Superlogics driver
Import and Export Variables and Strings Automatically
At measurement start you can import global variables and global strings including the properties from a VAR file. When the measurement stops, you can export the global variables and strings back into a VAR file. You enable this behavior under Options»Global Worksheet Settings. This way you can transfer global variables and strings from one worksheet to the next. DASYLab saves these settings together with the worksheet.
You can open the Variables/Strings Overview in the Options menu without errors even if a variable uses a system variable or if a string uses a system string.
Module Benchmarking
The module runtimes show the processing times of the modules implemented in the worksheet. To open this dialog box you must enable the setting Compute module benchmarking in the Options»Global Setup. DASYLab does not determine the processing time by default, because this process requires computing power.
Sequencer
To document the currently created or loaded sequencer in a text file select File»Export in the Sequencer window. DASYLab saves control sequences as an HTML file and transfers the tree structure to a list with two levels.
Diagram Module
The new display module combines the displays of a recorder, a yt chart, and an xy chart. The Diagram displays all data channels in one axis system or each data channel in separate axis systems. You can combine several data channels in one axis system. Before the measurement you move the height of the axis systems and the cursors in order to display the cursor data of all curves in the legend during the measurement. During the measurement you can move the displayed curve sections horizontally and also vertically if you simultaneously press <Ctrl>. If you want to zoom curve horizontally, use the mouse scroller.
Write Data Module
When you write the DIAdem TDM format, you can add up to 50 custom properties for data channels and groups. The definition of the custom properties is the same as the definition of the channel names and channel comments in the same dialog box: First select global strings that contain the names and the values of the custom properties. DASYLab reads these strings and writes the names and values into the TDM file.
Action Module
If you define several actions in an Action module, you can change the order afterwards. If this module monitors several input channels, you change the assignment of the actions to the input channels when you change the order.
DASYLab always provides the asynchronous action Change control operating mode in the PID Control module. Only select this action if you use the control parameters Kr, Tv, Tn for one channel pair in the PID Control module.
Action-Controlled Relay Module
You can switch each data channel separately in the action controlled relay. If you want to switch all data channels simultaneously, do not specify any channels in the Action module.
Formula Interpreter Module
The exp() function recognizes floating point values that are greater than 264 without errors again.
E-Mail Module
E-mails are sent within an independent thread that Windows manages as a self-contained process independent of DASYLab. This way the sending of an e-mail does not block DASYLab anymore. You can specify a timeout of 1 to 100 seconds and record the send status in a global variable.
Correlation Module
DASYLab can calculate the correlation for data blocks with lengths that are not the power of two. Select FFT without the power of two.
FFT Module
DASYLab also can calculate an FFT for data blocks with lengths that are not the power of two. Select FFT without the power of two.
Electro Technical Characteristics Module
DASYLab also can calculate data blocks with lengths that are not the power of two. Select FFT without the power of two.
Transfer Module
Rainflow Module
DASYLab interprets the setting End of the last class accurately again.
Modbus Modules
The Modbus modules Analog Input and Digital Input work with modified interface behavior to provide measurement data.
DASYLab needs a continuous and equidistant data flow without gaps from the driver to the worksheet modules. The driver uses an independent thread with a repetition rate of one millisecond for data acquisition via the COM interface. Within a thread the driver receives all relevant Modbus data and buffers the respective data for each data channel. When the driver outputs the buffered thread data to the data blocks the driver disregards the reception time stamp for the positioning. If the measurement starts without thread data being available, the driver waits for data and does not output data in the meantime. If the driver receives measurement data and a position in a data block has not received data, the driver outputs the last value again at this position.
The help sections for the modules groups Trigger functions, Statistics, Display, Files, and Special have been completely revised. The help for the Remote-I/O drivers Advantech ADAM, Adlink NUDAM, ICP CON, MSL SOLO, Newport / Omega OMR, and Superlogics have also been revised.
The following drivers have been expanded and revised. Refer to the help sections of the drivers for a description of the extensions.
The NUDAM driver and the respective help have been completely revised. The driver also supports the baud rates 57600 and 115200.
The ADAM driver and the respective help have been completely revised. The driver supports the devices ADAM-4051, ADAM-4017+ and ADAM-4018+ and the baud rates 57600 and 115200.
The ICP CON driver and the respective help have been completely revised. The driver also supports the baud rates 57600 and 115200.
The company ICP DAS is developing this driver further. Visit the internet site www.icpdas.com/download/7000/7000.htm for a current version of this driver.
· Measurement Computing MCC-DAQ Driver
The setting Output value when measurement stops in the Digital Output module now works correctly again with a high value.
· Microstar Laboratories DAP Driver
The DAP module Analog Input now saves the A/D amplification factors correctly.
· MSL Solo Driver
The SOLO driver and the respective help have been completely revised. The driver also supports the baud rates 57600 and 115200.
· National Instruments NI-DAQmx Driver
The DASYLab installation offers two NI-DAQmx driver versions: NI-DAQmx (with CAN) and NI-DAQmx (without CAN).
- The NI-DAQmx (with CAN) driver now also has the modules CAN Send and CAN Receive. First you must define CAN messages and CAN channels for sending and receiving telegrams, in the Measurement & Automation Explorer (MAX). Create CAN messages and CAN channels in the Data Environment»CAN Channels group. Then you create and configure CAN tasks in the CAN configurator of the NI-DAQmx driver. The modules CAN Send and CAN Receive access these CAN tasks.
In order to work with the DASYLab driver NI-DAQmx you must install the hardware driver NI-DAQmx and the interface driver NI-CAN from National Instruments, regardless of whether you use CAN hardware.
In order to use the NI-DAQmx modules in DASYLab you must install the Measurement & Automation Explorer (MAX) Version 4.2.1.3001 and later, the hardware driver NI-DAQmx Version 8.5.0f3 and later, and the interface driver NI-CAN Version 2.5.0f0 and later from National Instruments.
- The NI-DAQmx (without CAN) driver does not have CAN functions. To exchange data and commands via the CAN interface install the DASYLab driver NI-CAN.
The following extensions and changes apply for both versions of the NI DAQmx driver.
The function key <F6> is assigned to a new function in the NI-DAQmx driver: For example, if you assign the task 13 to the channel 3 and press <F6>, the channel 4 has the task 14 and so on.
For the modules Analog Input, Digital Input, and Counter Input the block start times are calculated correctly again in the acquisition mode 1 Sampling value so that these modules can work, for example, synchronously again with the Generator module.
If you use the module Counter Input with the acquisition mode 1 sampling value to measure a frequency, the settings Output last valid value or Output value work accurately again with the time base setup.
If you use the module Counter Input with the acquisition mode Continous, DASYLab driver interprets this acquisition mode like the acquisition mode 1 Sampling value. Thus all timeout functions are available. The DASYLab driver distributes the values to read of the MAX task to the output data blocks.
The driver now forwards the channel units accurately to the subsequent modules.
If you create and save a worksheet with NI-DAQmx driver modules, you can use the current hardware settings for the next worksheet. If you select File»New and you do not want to use the current settings for the new worksheet, DASYLab runs a synchronization with MAX in order to restore the standard values.
The setting Allow regeneration is now in the Measurement & Automation Explorer task settings and not in the measurement setup of the DASYLab driver. Select the setting Regeneration mode»Allow regeneration on the Advanced Timing tab for a task.
· National Instruments NI-CAN Hardware
The NI-CAN driver now writes the channel names and the channel units into global strings in the CAN Receive module. In the measurement setup you can enable the setting for Writes bus activity into global variables. Every second DASYLab specifies the number of frames (IDs) on the port and writes the specified value into a global variable.
· Newport / Omega OMR Driver
The Newport/Omega OMR driver and the respective help have been completely revised. The driver also supports the baud rates 57600 and 115200.
The OPC-DA client provides the modules OPC Input and OPC Output. DASYLab uses the OPC interface to connect as an OPC-DA client with field bus systems and various hardware for which OPC servers are available. The communication standard OPC (OLE for Process Control) allows efficient data transfer between various hardware and software components of an application.
The Superlogics driver and the respective help have been completely revised. The driver also supports the baud rates 57600 and 115200.
· Vector CAN Driver
In long-term measurements the driver can buffer received telegrams accurately. The overflow of the FIFO memory does not occur anymore.
· IXXAT CAN Driver
You can start a worksheet with IXXAT CAN modules accurately multiple times without the measurement terminating.
· Sound Card Driver
The sound card driver no longer supports the printer port for digital acquisition and output.
© Copyright 2007 National Instruments Ireland Resources Limited
szczepuz999